HOW TO MAKE ‘FREE FROM’ PANCAKES

I’m posting my perfect pancake recipe.  These pancakes are gluten free, wheat free, dairy free and nut free.  I’ve included a substitution for those intolerant to soya.

INGREDIENTS LIST

85g gluten free plain flour (I used Doves Farm)

15g soya flour

4 tablespoons soft brown sugar

1 tablespoon corn flour

1 teaspoon xantham gum

1/2 a tablespoon baking powder

a pinch of salt

250ml soya milk (I used Alpro as it’s slightly flavoured).  If using a supermarket brand soya, try adding a 1/2 teaspoon vanilla extract for flavour.

1 tablespoon sunflower oil (or any mild olive oil)

METHOD

Sift dry ingredients in a bowl and mix.

Whisk an egg in a bowl, then add the milk and whisk well

Add dry ingredients into wet mixture, a third at a time mixing until just combined (Do not over mix).

Add the oil and mix.

Cover mixture with cling film and leave to set for 5 to 10 minutes.

Heat a non-stick frying pan on a low heat.  Pour about half a ladle of batter in the center of the pan.  You can tilt the pan slightly sideways and around to allow batter to spread.  Once air bubbles appear on surface of batter it’s time to turn over. Leave for about 1 minute until brown, then remove from the heat.

Once your pancakes are cooked, pour gold syrup or maple syrup over.  I used gold syrup and it  worked a treat

P.S.  It’s advisable to cook one pancake at a time placing in the center of the frying pan.

SUBSTITUTIONS

If you have a soya intolerance you can try replacing:

15g soya flour (with 15g rice flour)

250ml Alpro soya milk (with 250ml Alpro rice milk).

Do give this recipe a try and leave your comments.

 

.

PREVENTING CROSS-CONTAMINATION IN THE KITCHEN

These days there are many foods containing allergen ingredients.  Some of the more common allergen ingredients include: Wheat, Gluten, Lactose and Nuts, although Eggs and Soya are also allergen ingredients in baked goods.  Gluten is a protein found in wheat, barley and rye.

Sharing a kitchen is one of the problems faced by many families who have a member who suffers from food allergies.  These are some steps you can take to avoid cross contamination in a shared kitchen.

1)    Keep your kitchen utensils separate.  Washing thoroughly can help but in the case of wooden utensils like wooden spoons and rolling pins, you will need to buy your separate supply as wood is porous and can trap small amounts of gluten and nuts. Also having a separate sieve is very important as it is difficult to clean sieves.  It would be very likely to contain traces of gluten or nuts.

2)    Get into the habit of wiping down all food surfaces before and after use.  Water is not always sufficient you should use an antibacterial surface wipe which is suitable for use where food is prepared.

3)    Avoid leaving foods uncovered as fine grains like wheat flour can easily get into foods if being used in the kitchen.

4)    It’s advisable to have a separate cupboard to store your own ingredients like gluten free flours, sugar, baking powder etc.

5)    Have a separate toaster or use toaster bags which will protect bread from contamination

6)    Place leftovers in an airtight container before refrigerating.  This will prevent your food coming into contact with other foods stored in the same fridge.

 

This is a list of some foods containing allergen ingredients and some alternatives

Malt vinegar (Made from barley) – You can use apple cider vinegar which is made from apple cider therefore contains no gluten

Spirit vinegar / Distilled White Vinegar (Can be made from any starch including gluten grains so would avoid) – You can use wine vinegar which is made from red or white wine which in turn is made from grapes

Semolina (From durum wheat) – Use Cornmeal or Polenta which are both gluten free

Ketchup (Contains spirit vinegar)

Salad dressings (Some contain spirit vinegar – Always read the labels as some are also made of wine vinegar which is gluten free)

Frozen fries (some are dipped in flour batter which would contain gluten) – You can find some supermarket brands which are not dipped in batter

Seasoned crisp / Pringles (some crisps contain wheat starch so always read the ingredients list)

Malt (Contains barley which contains gluten)

Coconut Yoghurt (many of the coconut yoghurts in supermarkets contain dairy milk – so always read the label before purchasing) – www.coyo.co.uk is an online supplier of dairy free yoghurts and ice creams.

Cornflakes (Contains barley malt flavouring or malt extract) – There are a number of online health shops which sell gluten free cornflakes

Beer – Most beers are made from barley

Vegetable oils (the most common vegetable oils used in the UK are Rapeseed or Canola oils.  These oils are derivative from the lupin plant which is a derivative in peanut) – Sunflower oils, olive oils or corn oils are all safe.